Wake Me Up! (Morning Essentials for Sleep Lovers)

I’ve never ever been a morning person. I was never predestined to be one either – everyone in my family likes a good long night’s sleep (growing up, it was rare to see any activity in the house before 10 am on weekends!). I’m a huge sleeper: I need at least 8 hours’ sleep per night to feel ok the next day. Even then, waking up is never an easy task… So over the years, I’ve developed my own morning routine to help me through those painful first 30 minutes of the day.

So here are my morning essentials: the skincare and beauty products I use, as well as my breakfast! I highly recommend these products and tips if like me, you’re not much of a morning person.

Morning Essentials for Anti-Morning People

My Morning RoutineAvène Eau Thermale

My Morning Routine Eau Thermale Avène

I’ve raved about this product before (I have a whole post with tips on how to use it here), and I think mornings are when I appreciate it the most. After showering and drying myself off, I spritz my face with Eau Thermale, leave it on a few seconds and dab away the excess with a cotton disc. I feel like it’s a much better water to leave on your face last than tap water. Also, as I usually shower with hot water, the fresh spray wakes me up a lot more!

Yves Rocher Hydra Végétal Fresh Gel Undereye Bags

My Morning Routine Yves Rocher Hydra Végétal Eye Gel

This is a really cool gel (cool in the literal sense!) which instantly freshens up your skin and de-puffs undereye bags. I sometimes keep mine in the fridge overnight to maximise its effect the next day! True to Yves Rocher standards, it contains no paraben and no silicone.

Nivea Soin de Jour Moisturiser

My Morning Routine Soin de Jour Nivea Moisturiser

Moisturiser is in my opinion the most important step of any morning routine. Even if you skin doesn’t feel tight, you need to moisturise! I use the Nivea moisturiser for normal to mixed skin, although they do have a version for sensitive skin. I’ve been using this product for years now. It leaves a very lightweight veil on my face, has a light, fresh smell and keeps my skin hydrated all day long. It also contains Vitamin E, which is an essential product for face products, and SPF for sunny days.

Carmex Classic Lip Balm

My Morning Routine Carmex Lip Balm

For me Carmex is the king of all lip balms. I have read blog posts which say that it doesn’t actually hydrate lips, but I could not disagree more! For me, it immediately repairs chapped lips and keeps healthy lips hydrated and smooth. I put it on at least three times a day, including mornings and evenings! I’ve specifically included the Carmex balm it in this Morning Routine for Non-Morning People post because of its effect. It’s hard to describe but it immediately penetrates your lips and you can feel it tingle – it wakes your lips up, if that makes sense!

A Light Breakfast

My Morning Routine Tea and Fruit Breakfast

I am a firm believer that breakfast is the most important meal of the day! I always have a cup of tea (green or English Breakfast depending on my mood) and fruit as part of my breakfast! Eating a good portion of fruit in the morning will give you a head start on your 5-fruits-and-vegetables goal, and help you feel fresh and non-bloated all morning long!

Are you an anti-morning person like me? What are your morning essentials?