My Favorite Products For Frizzy Hair

I was originally going to name this post “My Current Hair Routine” but fortunately I realised that a) that’s a bit boring and over-done and b) every hair product I’ve ever used is designed for frizzy hair.

I have very thick hair that, if controlled, can look quite nice… but if left in peace, gets super frizzy. These are the hair products I use the most in order to control the frizziness. They work really well for me, and I highly recommend them if you have similar hair issues!

How to Tame Frizziness

Frizzy Hair Routine Redken John Frieda l'Oreal

John Frieda Frizz-Ease Shampoo & Conditioner

Frizzy Hair Routine John Frieda Frizz Ease Shampoo and Conditioner

The war against frizziness starts in the shower – you need shampoo and conditioner which are specifically designed for this purpose. I’ve tried out A LOT of anti-frizz shampoo and conditioners, and my favorites are from the John Frieda Frizz-Ease range. Both products are quite creamy but rinse out really well. They actually look similar too, no clear shampoo in this range! Most importantly, they get the job done – even if I use only these two products and nothing else, my hair will already be less frizzy when it dries.

Redken All Soft Heavy Cream

Frizzy Hair Routine Redken All Soft Heavy CreamI’d already mentioned this product in my April Favorites post, but words cannot express how much I love it. In fact I’m running out and will definitely be repurchasing soon! Once to twice a week, I use this mask after my conditioner. I apply it on towel-dried hair, then put my hair up and leave it on for 20-30 minutes. I then rinse it out using ice-cold water (with my head over the tub, obviously!). Ice cold water helps lock in the moisture. Even when my hair is still wet, I can already feel the difference this product makes. My hair is super smooth and all the frizz has been eliminated. And if that wasn’t enough, this product smells incredible.

Micro-Fiber Towel

Frizzy Hair Routine MicroFiber Towel

This is probably the most important tip to remember from this post: always dry your hair with a micro-fiber towel! They’re so much softer than regular towels and don’t damage your hair as much. Also, never rub your hair with the towel, simply twist the towel around your hair and leave it on your head for 15 to 30 minutes, before air-drying or blow-drying. They’re really cheap too – I actually got mine from a sports gear retailer (swimmers use them). This tip has completely changed my hair!

l’Oréal Huile Extraordinaire

Frizzy Hair Routine l'Oreal Huile Extraordinaire

I’d featured this l’Oréal product in a post about Simple & Effective Beauty Habits a while back and I’m still convinced by its amazingness (you can see how much I’ve used up since the first post!). After washing my hair, putting it up in a micro-fiber towel and then letting it air-dry for a bit, I apply this hair serum on the lower third of my strands. It completely smoothes down any remaining frizziness, helps my hair shine, and smells incredible too!

Let me know if you have any tips for frizzy hair!