I am House of Lure’s Blog of the Month!

This month I am lucky enough to feature on House of Lure’s blog as her “Blog of the Month“! We conducted a small interview about beauty and blogging which you can view on her blog or right here :)

House of Lure Blog of the Month The London Turtle

Blog of the Month Interview

House of Lure: What is your mission statement and what makes you unique?

The London Turtle: To be honest, for now I don’t really have one! I started my blog a few months ago to have fun really, and I’m still learning the ropes. I’m getting to grips with photography, writing good content, using social media… Hopefully one day I can get to a level I’m proud of! I can say however that my mission statement will become clearer once I move to London over the summer – most of my blog posts will then be about this wonderful city! For now I am living in Nice and really enjoying that too. I guess that’s something that makes me unique – having lived in both England and France, speaking both languages, interacting with bloggers of both nationalities, etc.
Tower Bridge London

What does beauty mean to you?

Beauty to me means confidence. If a girl feels beautiful, she’ll feel confident and therefore will be beautiful to others. I think makeup and skincare products should be used to that end: to help yourself feel confident about your appearance. And to have fun with of course!

What are your top 3 beauty products?

– Lip balm – I always have lip balm on me and I apply it several times a day, even in warm weather. There’s nothing worse than chapped lips in my opinion! My favorite brand is Carmex. 
– Hair serum – I always apply hair serum after washing it and in the morning if it’s looking dry. It’s a great way to nourish hair and make it look better! My favorite brand is John Frieda.
– Nail polish – I love painting my nails, and feel naked when I don’t have any color on them. I love Barry M nail polish, it’s the best UK brand in my opinion! 
Barry M Nail Polishes Indigo Mint Green Bright Purple

Could you tell us a few beauty tips?

My top beauty tip would be: exfoliation and hydration are your best friends! For your face and body! Having a clean and hydrated face will reduce redness and blemishes and provide the best base for your makeup. Exfoliating and hydrating your body will optimise waxing and tanning. Also, apply SPF every day, no matter your age or the weather outside!

Anything new on the market that’s caught your eye?

I’m really excited about Mac’s Maleficient collection, based on the new movie with Angelina Jolie. It’s full of fun dark colors and really pretty packaging. Can’t wait to get my hands on some products :) 
Maleficent MAC

Are there any celebrities that are currently providing inspiration for your makeup looks?

Although I have a few celeb girl crushes (particularly Emma Stone and Nina Dobrev!), I try to look at other celebs with similar coloring to mine for inspiration. No use trying to copy looks that clearly won’t work for me! My main inspirations are probably Emma Watson and Shailene Woodley. Before Emma chopped her hair off (which I think looks gorgeous!) I’d imitated a few of her hairdos. And her makeup is always so elegant! 

If you received £100 to go and spend now on makeup, what would you buy?

Without a doubt, two of Chanel’s “Les 4 Ombres” Quadra Eyeshadow palettes – the colors are so gorgeous!

Can you give us a quick breakdown of your skincare routine?

Every morning, I wash my face with a cleanser from the Body Shop Vitamin E range and then apply a Nivea moisturiser. Once a week I exfoliate with my Caudalie face scrub. And every night I remove all my makeup, spray my face with Avène Eau Thermale, then apply the serum for the Body Shop Vitamin E range!
Eau Thermale AvèneThe Body Shop Vitamin E Serum-in-OilCaudalie Deep Cleansing Exfoliator

Thanks to House of Lure for the spotlight! You can check out her blog here, and follow her on Twitter and Instagram!