My April Favorites

Today is the last day of April. It’s been a really exciting month! I bought my wedding dress, celebrated my sister’s birthday, travelled to my uni town Bath and got nominated for a Liebster Award! During my trip to the UK, I of course went shopping at Boots, and three products from that haul feature in this favorites post. The other two were bought in France. Unlike my March Favorites, these are all new products. So here are the five new products I most enjoyed using in April!

The London Turtle April Favorites Max Factor Soap and Glory Redken

Redken “All Soft” Heavy Cream

The London Turtle April Favorites Redken All Soft Hair Heavy Cream

Because I have pretty dry hair I am always on the lookout for good hair masks. This Redken hair mask is one of the best ones I’ve found so far! I bought it on Feelunique after reading amazing reviews and I am definitely not disappointed. It contains lots of argan oil which has always done wonders for my hair. To use this mask, I wash my hair and then work the mask in, put my hair up and leave it in for 15-20 minutes (it says 5 minutes on the container). I rinse with cold water (as cold as I can!) and voila – soft, shiny hair!

Soap & Glory “Flake Away” Body Scrub

The London Turtle April Favorites Soap and Glory Flake Away Body Scrub The London Turtle April Favorites Soap and Glory Flake Away Body Scrub 2

This is one of the fantastic products I found in Boots! I’d always been tempted to buy Soap & Glory products because of their really cute packaging, but never got around to it. But as I am always searching for good body scrubs (like my Caudalie one!) and this one was quite small and reasonably priced, I figured why not. My first impression was: it smells INCREDIBLE. When I read the ingredients, I figured out why: shea butter, sugar and peach seeds! The seeds are big enough to actually exfoliate (which is absurdly rare for body scrubs!) and the texture is super creamy and rich, leaving skin super smooth. I love it!

Max Factor “False Lash Effect” Mascara

The London Turtle April Favorites Max Factor False Lash Effect Mascara The London Turtle April Favorites Max Factor False Lash Effect Mascara 2

A friend recommended this mascara to me years ago and since then it has become my all-time favorite. However I had run out a while back and hadn’t been able to get more in the UK (you can’t get Max Factor products in France!). So in April this was the first product I got from Boots, and I’m really happy to have it back! This mascara gives super long and thick lashes with no clumping. It’s a bit hard to get off, but in my opinion that’s only a small con for all its pros.

Max Factor “Max Effect” Mini Nail Polish


The London Turtle April Favorites Max Factor Max Effect Nail Polish 2

This is another Max Factor product I bought at Boots. I’d never bought one of their nail polishes so I figured I’d start out with a mini version. I chose a light banana yellow as it’s Spring and therefore the perfect time to wear pastel shades! Its color is actually the reason this nail polish is in this favorites post, as the consistency isn’t that great. It takes three coats until it becomes opaque, but then again it did last me a while without chipping!

Plastic Spiral Hair Ties

The London Turtle April Favorites Plastic Spiral Hair Ties The London Turtle April Favorites Plastic Spiral Hair Ties 2

Since discovering them it is safe to say I will never go without plastic spiral hair ties again! They are so much better for your hair than traditional hair ties (which I used to get in bulk from H&M). They minimise the stress you put on your hair and therefore future breakage. But what I really love about them is that they stay securely in place when you have them on but glide off super easily and leave absolutely no creases! I bought these from a small jewelry shop for 50 cents each, but I think you can get off Etsy and Amazon.

 

Hope you enjoyed this Favorites post! Let’s hope May is as wonderful as April was! :)