Bridal Makeup: My Wishlist!

My sister is getting married soon and I’m lucky enough to be doing her makeup for the big day. Pretty big responsibility… but I’m really excited to put my years of beauty blog reading, Sephora hunting and makeup testing to good use. I’ve started putting together a list of everything I’ll be needing for her skin, eyes and lips. With an unlimited budget, this is everything I would get! This list features most of my favorite makeup brands which I trust for this very important task.

1. Bridal skin

Bridal skin makeup

1 – MAKE UP FOR EVER “All Mat” Primer: to even out and prep her skin for makeup. Primer is essential to long-lasting makeup, which is exactly what you need on your wedding day. I’ll also be keeping oil-absorbing sheets in my bag for quick touch-ups!

2 – YVES SAINT LAURENT “Touche Eclat” Highlighter Pen: on her under eye circles (though I will be prescribing lots of beauty sleep), brow bones and cupid’s bow to bring a touch of sunlight to her face and hide imperfections.

3 – YVES SAINT LAURENT “Touche Eclat” Foundation: to cover her face and neck. This is my all-time favorite foundation (Dior Nude is a close second), it’s perfect for both my and my sister’s skin. We don’t have a lot of imperfections, we just need a light veil to even out, brighten and matify our faces, which is what this foundation does perfectly!

4 – BOBBI BROWN “Rose Shimmer Brick Compact” Blush: on her cheekbones. I love that this palette has  different colors, it makes it perfectly versatile for different parts of the wedding (ceremony, reception, meal, dancing!). Reviews say it’s got amazing hold, which is perfect!

5 – MAKE UP FOR EVER “Mist & Fix” Make-up Fist Mix: as a final step (after eyes and lips) to fix everything in place. During a whole day of smiling, kissing and moving around, I want my sister’s makeup to stay in place!

2. Bridal eyes

Bridal eye makeup

1 – URBAN DECAY “Eyeshadow Primer Potion” Eye Primer: to prep her eyelids for makeup and ensure it goes on smooth and stays on all day. This is my favorite eye makeup primer, and I am now convinced it’s an essential step in my makeup routine.

2 – LANCÔME “Hypnôse Palette” Eye Palette: to color her crease and brow. My sister wants a neutral makeup, so I’ll go for a soft smoky eye in beige and brown colors.

3 – LANCÔME “Artliner” Black Eye-liner: for a very thin line at the rim of her eyelashes, to make her eyes pop. No cat eye or anything, just a very thin line to define her eyes.

4 – SISLEY “Phyto-Khol Perfect” White Crayon: for the inner corner of her eyes. I always put a touch of white crayon on the inner corner of my eyes to really make my eyes pop and look awake! So I’ll be doing the same for my sister, I really like this look. This crayon also has a mousse tip on the other end to smudge, which is perfect.

5 – BENEFIT “They’re Real” Black Mascara: for perfect eyelashes! This is my one of my favorite mascaras. I always apply mascara as a last step to eye makeup, to avoid powder falling on top of the lashes afterwards and fading out the black color.

3. Bridal lips

Bridal Lip Makeup

1 – ELIZABETH ARDEN “Eight Hour Cream” Lip Balm: to hydrate and prep her lips for makeup. Elizabeth Arden’s Eight Hour Cream is a makeup and skincare classic, so it definitely deserves its place on this list. This lip balm will keep her lips hydrated throughout the day, and ensure her lipstick goes on smoothly.

2 – BENEFIT “Benetint” Cheeks and Lips Stain: to color her lips. I’ll put this on her lips before lipstick, to ensure despite all the kissing she’ll be doing, her lips stay colored!

3 – SMASHBOX “Megatint” Lipstick: To add texture, color and shine to her lips. This is one of my favorite lipsticks. It goes on nicely, stays put for a very long time, and it’ll be subtle enough to look good on wedding photos. I’ll be keeping it in my bags for touch-ups of course!

 

Can’t wait to be a makeup artist for a day!