The Best Restaurants in Nice

I’ve been living in Nice in the South of France for a few months now, and I’m really enjoying it. The fiancé and I have found some fantastic places to eat at which we quickly became regulars. Some are pretty famous and can easily be spotted on Tripadvisor, and others are more secret. So I thought I’d share these culinary wonders which are definitely worth a visit if you are ever in Nice!

The Carpe Diem

22 Rue Benoît Bunico

Style: Italian

Budget: £££ (entrée + main + desert for 19€ OR à la carte for approx. 15€)

Rating: ♥♥

This little Italian jewel is located on a tiny street in the heart of the historic Nice. It is definitely some of the best Italian food I’ve ever had. I highly recommend the truffle ravioli!

Carpe Diem Nice italian restaurant

Le Vingt 4

24 Rue Alphonse Karr

Style: 100% homemade French food and a “female” wine bar at night

Budget: £££ (mains for approx. 20€)

Rating: ♥♥♥

The concept of this restaurant is very original: their wine list is composed by women and is mainly sourced from women-owned vineyards. Every time I go, I discover a new white wine I’d never heard of but which  quickly becomes my new favorite. The food is also amazing of course. They have a small menu but every dish is delicious, especially the Vingt 4 fish burger!

Restaurant le Vingt 4 Nice

La Cuisine d’André

134 boulevard Gambetta

Style: French

Budget: £££ (Main of the Day for 12€)

Rating: ♥♥♥

Now some may say I’m biased as the owners of this restaurant are friends of mine, but I know I’d love it just as much if they were strangers! Their concept is simple: one main dish a day, made only with fresh produce bought directly at the market that morning, cooked by André, and served by his very friendly wife Christine. The dishes themselves vary a lot, but they have one thing in common: they are absolutely delicious. Make sure you save some space for desert, still 100% homemade by André of course (by the way, he is a former pastry chef!).

La Cuisine d'André Nice Gambetta

Makassar

5 rue Alexandre Mari

Style: Brunch!

Budget: £££ (brunch for 20€)

Rating: ♥♥♥

I’ve only ever had brunch at this restaurant, so I’m not sure what it’s like for lunch or dinner. But I can say that on weekends, they serve the best brunch I’ve ever tried: free coffee, tea and orange juice refills; different types of yummy bread with butter and Bonne Maman jam; the “sweet” of the day (last time I had white chocolate and walnut cake); the fish plate with blinis and tarama, smoked salmon, salad, scrambled eggs, salmon sashimi and sauteed potatoes (they also have a meat plate); a cheese board, fresh fruit, and home-made yoghurt. All for 19€, in a very cute setting not far from the sea. Are you booking your flights to Nice yet?

Brunch Makassar Nice

Gelateria Azzurro

1 rue Sainte Reparate

Style: Ice cream

Budget: £££

Rating: ♥♥♥

Ok so this isn’t a restaurant, but it is the best ice cream place in Nice in my opinion. My favorite flavors are Oreo, Yoghurt and White Chocolate, but they also have every other yummy flavor you can think of! The ice cream is all 100% home-made, just like the cones (last time, I literally saw the owner make the dough and bake the cone in front of my eyes). Delicious!

Gelateria Azzurro Nice