Downton Abbey S04 Christmas Special

Finally, this year’s Christmas Special! I was so looking forward to it, how I had missed Downton! And I was definitely not disappointed. So, as usual, a quick recap of the episode. Except this time, there are way more ups than downs, I just couldn’t cut down the list!

Downton Abbey season 4 Christmas Special – the ups, the downs and the best Maggie Smith moment. Enjoy!

What I loved : Rose’s very successful debut into society (I love her character), the arrival of the Americans and the usual hilarity that ensues, Mary declaring battle between her two suitors (she’s finally healed and she deserves it), Cora’s hilarious brother, Bates saving the day with his fine-tuned pickpocketing skills, Mary deciding not to tell on Mr.Bates’ (justified) murder, and last but certainly not least, Mr. Carson and Mrs. Hughes holding hands!

What I didn’t love : Daisy turning down the chance to go to America, Edith deciding to mess up her daughter and her general family’s life, and Tom inviting a very irritating young woman who is not Sybil back to the house.

Best Maggie moment : “The theater? Oh no, I’m too tired for an evening of secondhand emotion” ; “Mary’s men? Why are they coming”? always one to awkwardly point out the obvious ! And last but not least, to Shirley MacLaine’s “The gang’s all here I see”, “Is that American for ‘Hello’?”

Downton Abbey Christmas Special

Downton Abbey Christmas Special

Downton Abbey Christmas Special